P90X- Week1.

As my new & LAST semester of college starts, I find myself working ahead of the class. I’m just trying to scratch as much off my to do list as possible. And I thought senioritis was going to be a problem for me. Ha. I’m still a nerd.

Well, not only did I start my new semester last week, but I also started P90X and I have been in a whirlwind ever since. See, it’s hard enough planning workouts around 1 person’s schedule. But since I’m doing this with my fiance, I have to plan it around both of our schedules. It’s super hard. But doable. It just means that I’m not working out first thing in the morning anymore (my favorite time).

So, I thought I’d share what my thoughts are after week 1.

WEEK 1: P90X

We are currently doing the classic version. There are all different types of verisons (even one for runners!) based on what kind of results you are looking for. I’m not sure what results I want in myself, but I know KJ would like to see some pounds come off, and get back his toned body.

Our week looked like this:

Monday: Chest and Back, Ab Ripper

Tuesday: Plyometrics

Wednesday: Shoulders and Arms, Ab Ripper

Thursday: Yoga X

Friday: Legs

Saturday: Kenpo X

Sunday: REST 🙂

To be honest, I don’t feel the indevidual videos are difficult. Last week, I was disappointed after each video to realize it wasn’t nearly as challenging as I thought. But as the week went by, I found my entire body was just EXHAUSTED (although, I also ran around 15 miles on top of this). Kj and I were no longer talking, we would greet each other with a grunt and that would be it lol. We just were SO tired. At first I blamed my new schedule. But then I realized this program’s intensity comes from the combined efforts of all the videos as a whole. And let me tell you the whole is definitely greater than the sum of the parts. Seriously, it’s only Wednesday now, but I’m starting to feel tired.

As for noticing any changes, I didn’t think I would see any in the first week. But I already notice my abs and arms getting more toned and defined. I’ll do a more formal results post at four weeks, eight weeks, and 13 weeks.

I have been trying to clean up my diet. I’ve been guilty lately of eating too much chocolate (um, I don’t think there is such a thing, but whatev.). P90X Comes with a serious nutrition plan, but I don’t think that I’m at a point where I need to follow a strict diet. I am making sure my diet in general is low in fat and sugar, high in protein, and am keeping my carb servings at about 4, with two of those being fruit. And when the mood strikes, some chocolate covered pretezel  balls (they are like crack and that is all I have to say).

I guess what I like most about the program is KJ’s willingness to work out with me. We laugh, a lot, and it means so much to me that he is doing with me what I enjoy most!

So heres to week two. Shoulders, Arms, and Abs tonight. Please go easy on me Master X.

Leave a Reply

