P90X weeks 3&4; and a dress

Well, I guess I’ve fallen by the wayside on blogging. Oh well, such is life. I seem to only want to blog when I have to study something boring. Moral problems in modern ethics? Uh, what? Yeah. I’d rather blog. I have an essay test coming up. It’s one of those where you are given like, 8 questions, and will have two the professor will pick for you to right on. The problem I’m having is a lot of the questions want MY educated opinions. And I don’t really have opinions on matters such as moral language. But I do have an opinion on abortion. (I am using the Jedi mind trick right now, willing that question to be on the test). It won’t be. But there will be 2 on cultural relativism. Just my luck.

So, week 3 of P90X was the last week of phase 1. And all I remember was everyday wishing it would end. I picked up more miles in running this week, so I was exhausted. KJ is still shrinking away. And I am getting muscle definition that down right scares me. I’m going to look like a man here soon. But that’s ok, according to my ethics class, they make out better in everything anyhow.

Here’s one of Kj’s better poses. Not bad, not bad.

20120226-185546.jpg

Week 4 of P90X was a taper week, filled with recovery exercises. We didn’t follow the week 100%. On Wednesday we were both EXHAUSTED, so we decided to move KenpoX to Saturday and scratch off YogaX. Honestly, doing YogaX twice in one week sounded like torture. I had a victory this week! I said from the first time doing yogaX that I wanted to be able to hold crane pose by the last week. Well, I finally did it!

20120226-185554.jpg

I also ran like a madwoman this week. Oh, and I took a spinning class. My legs are still mad. My long run on thursday was rough. In fact, I cried. I ran up 10 hills. In 50 mph winds. Never again. Oh and I got shin splints for the first time in my life. I think I need new running shoes. I ran close to 16 miles this week. I’m nowhere near to what I used to run a week,  but I’m slowly making my way back.

20120226-185603.jpg

This week I discovered Chocolate Covered Katie. I’ve made like 6 different recipes. I love her. Above was a single lady chocolate chip cookie dough muffin. It rocked. KJ said they were better warm. That’s almost a compliment. This morning I made him a blueberry muffin. He liked that one.

20120226-185610.jpg

I also discovered Spaghetti Squash…. As an Italian, I value a good noodle. I like my pasta al dente, ya know, with a bit of crunch to it. Well, this had crunch and was goooood. It satisfied my pasta craving (tricked ya, brain) and filled me up all night long (for 40 calories, that’s kind of impressive). I tried them first with just a bit of butter, salt, and parmesan cheese. It was alright. But this evening I had them with parmesan cheese, and prego. And it was out of this world. The flavors of the tomato sauce and the squash complimented each other in a very good way. The consistency also worked well together. I just really am a huge fan.

In other news: I bought my wedding dress 🙂

It was completely an accident. I think I posted Friday morning that I was going shopping with my mom. We were going on a whim just to try to get a better feel of what I wanted. Well, I went to Cocoa Couture. I know people complain that it’s expensive, but its worth every penny, and if you have a budget they work with you. I did not necessarily have a budget. So I went in there and they were having a trunk show of a designer who has designed for kleinfelds and partnered with a few great wedding designers. He calls himself, the “queen of lace.” Yeah, his words not mine! And since I wanted a dress that was all lace, he was my dream come true. I tried on about 8 dresses. And nothing was cutting it. They were pretty, but they didn’t have the wow factor I was looking for. (My definition of wow is not BLING or being BIG, it was being romantic, detailed, elegant, and gorgeous). The manager came in, gave me a class of wine, and told the designer the dress he thought I needed to try on. I tried it on. I smiled. I walked out to my mom and the designer. And nobody spoke a word. My dress assistant Jen (who was FABULOUS) threw on the veil I picked out. And then the designer pronounced “it was as if I had you in mind when I made that dress, and I never say that.” My mom agreed. I had some reservations about one part of the dress (too low-cut) that I voiced and I heard something I loved: “I’m going to design you and make for you by hand this dress, with a higher cut bodice.” And he is throwing in a free muslim fitting, veil, sash, and detailing on the sash. SO then we talked details which included a longer train, higher cut bodice, and french lace. I also get his sketches of my dress so I can frame them later. It’s all good until you get the bill. But I’m a firm believer in paying for quality. It was by far the best experience I have ever had with this wedding stuff (besides, ya know, getting engaged 😉 ). I would recommend them 100000%. Even my designer offered to make the dress less expensive by substituting different lace over the french lace… I just wasn’t interested in changing the part I loved the MOST. I can’t give anymore details, my fiance is like, my only reader.

Here’s to getting married in all lace & being broke.

2 thoughts on “P90X weeks 3&4; and a dress

  1. Ahhhh!!!! This made me cry. Sounds incredible. I KNEW you would love Cocoa Couture! I wish I could have been there 😦 I so would have been. I love you.

  2. And Spaghetti Squash ROCKS! Lemme know when you want to have some at Mom and Dad’s! I’ll make it with you! Did you know you can nuke it?!?

Leave a Reply

